PDA

View Full Version : base currency



Yigwl1010
09-29-2006 08:47, 08:47 AM
One thing I don't understand about Forex, I'm trading a demo account on Oanda.

If my account is in CAD dollars, I then submit a buy order for EURUSD, how does this work? Does my CAD get converted to EUR which are then used to buy USD? Isn't that playing 2 different pairs at the same time? So if EURUSD goes up, but USDCAD goes down, I could actually lose money

Kesar
11-22-2021 09:44, 09:44 AM
One thing I don't understand about Forex, I'm trading a demo account on Oanda. If my account is in CAD dollars, I then submit a buy order for EURUSD, how does this work? Does my CAD get converted to EUR which are then used to buy USD? Isn't that playing 2 different pairs at the same time? So if EURUSD goes up, but USDCAD goes down, I could actually lose money
How I see this, you have already bought, so your Pocket Money is not affected by the trade only the pair you buy is affected. This an easy way to say it I guess. Maybe someone can explain more Technical.

nihi�arayixxoperwzsorex
11-22-2021 11:04, 11:04 AM
Seems to be the same situation for those on the normally default USD-based accounts who are not living in US.
https://www.forexibroker.com/attachments/1594384160.png